All You Need Is Love – Happy Valentine’s Day

“All you need is love. But a little chocolate now and then doesn’t hurt.” ~ Charles M. Schulz


Love is the greatest emotion of all.  Whether it’s in the air or in bloom it makes us warm all over!  Falling in love wreaks havoc on you body, your heart races, your stomach is tied in knots, you’re on an emotional roller coaster!  Contrary, standing in love is comfort, it is a cashmere shawl on a cool autumn evening, it is the safe harbor in a sea of squalls . All emotions start in the brain and love travels straight to the heart.  According to the ancient Greeks there are seven types of love:

  • Eros: Being in love or loving someone Eros was the Greek God of love.
  • Philia: Love of the mind, love between friends.  Also know as brotherly love, Philia represents the sincere and platonic love. Philia grows from companionship.
  • Ludus: Playful love. Flirtatious and teasing, a fun kind of love.
  • Pragma: Longstanding love. The highest form of love. It is pragmatic this is why it is referred to as “standing in love” rather than “falling in love” because it grows over time and requires profound understanding between lovers who have been together for many years.
  • Agape: Love of the soul. Charity, selfless, unconditional love for humanity.  The world needs more Agape.
  • Philautia: Love of the self. Philautia is essential for any relationship, we can only love others if we truly love ourselves and we can only care for others if we truly care for ourselves.
  • Storge: Love of the child.  Based on natural feelings and effortless love, it knows forgiveness, acceptance and sacrifice.  It is the only love that makes you feel secure, comfortable and safe.


The Five Love Languages:  How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate, published in 1995 by the  author Gary Chapman outlines five ways to express and experience love.

  • Gift Giving
  • Quality Time
  • Words of Affirmation
  • Acts of Service (devotion)
  • Physical Touch

Chapman theorizes that each person has one primary and one secondary love language.  To discover another person’s love language, one must observe the way they express love to others

Valentine’s Day is a day set aside to express love.  Some will give extravagant gifts while others might prepare a meal.  To a long time married husband and busy father the act of washing his wife’s car could be seen as thoughtful, while the newlywed married couple exchange hand made “coupons” for back rubs.  As a child my father would always bring a drug store box of chocolates for my mother and also one for me. Evidence of Storge: The love of the child. The heart shaped box which contained chocolates was covered in soft velvet and elaborately embellished with satin roses and lace ribbon. The chocolates each held a surprise filling and with much self control I would savor just one piece a day until at last the  beautiful box was empty.    Something this exquisite could never be tossed aside carelessly instead it became home to the many girly treasures accumulated throughout the year.

Victorian-era Cadbury boxes still exist, and many are treasured family heirlooms or valuable items prized by collectors.
Today February 14th remains an important Christian, Cultural and commercial celebration.  Among the symbols that represent the day are doves anything heart shaped and Cupid.  Valentine cards are exchanged from grammar school to retirement home.  Hallmark and handwritten cards to be saved and treasured.  All based on a most un-romantic legend.

On the evening before Valentine was to be executed, he is supposed to have written the first “valentine” card himself, addressed to the daughter of his jailer Asterius, who was no longer blind, signing as “Your Valentine.”[27] The expression “From your Valentine” was later adopted by modern Valentine letters.[28] This legend has been published by both American Greetings and The History Channel.[29]

  • The modern day celebration of Valentine’s Day is believed to have begun in France and England.
  • Cupid, which is the symbol for the Roman God of love, is one of the best known symbols of Valentine’s Day along with roses, hearts and doves.
  • The heart is probably the most common symbol of romantic love. Ancient cultures believed the human soul lived in the heart. This is where the red color for Valentine’s Day is rooted.
  • The red rose was the favorite flower of Venus, the Roman goddess of love. Since red stands for strong feelings, the red rose is a flower of love.
  • Pope Gelasius declared February 14, St. Valentine’s Day around 498 A.D.
  • In Great Britain, Valentine’s Day began to be celebrated around the seventeenth century>
  • By the middle of the eighteenth century, it was common for friends and lovers to exchange small tokens of affection or handwritten notes.

A Valentine’s Day poem found in the collection of English nursery rhymes Gammer Gurton’s Garland (1784):

The rose is red, the violet’s blue,

The honey’s sweet, and so are you.
Thou art my love and I am thine;
I drew thee to my Valentine:
The lot was cast and then I drew,

And Fortune said it shou’d be you.

Can you identify your primary and secondary love language?

Peace & Love


Leave a Reply